The Maritime Authority of Jamaica (MAJ) offers full technical services to our fleet of yachts.  Our global network of inspectors and surveyors, in conjunction with the delegation of classification societies, provides a seamless worldwide network of service.

International Conventions
Yacht Codes

Jamaica has been a full member of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) since 1976.  


As a ranking member of the IMO's Executive Council, Jamaica provides leadership at the IMO regarding the development and implementation of the international conventions, regulations, and codes affecting the maritime industry, both for merchant ships and yachts.


Jamaica is a signatory to the world's major safety, environmental, and labor conventions, including:


  • Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS)

  • Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL)

  • Load Lines

  • ISM Code

  • ISPS Code

  • MLC and the ILO Conventions



MAJ has adopted the United Kingdom Maritime Coast Guard Agency's (MCA) Yacht Codes.  


For yachts of 24 meters and greater in length, the Large Yacht Code shall be used.  This includes the current version of LY3 and the previous versions of LY2 and LY1, as applicable.  


For yachts of 24 meters and less in length, the Small Commercial Vessel (SCV) Code, MGN 280, is the main safety standard.


Being a member of the British Commonwealth, but an independent, sovereign nation, Jamaica utilizes its ability to determine its own equivalencies under these Codes.  Examples include the allowance for certain private yachts to charter and unclassed yachts to achieve commercial certification.


For those yachts certified to a non-MCA Code, the MAJ may accept those standards on a case-by-case basis.



Classification Societies
Yacht Bureau

MAJ has delegated statutory authority to all classification societies that are members of the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS).  Members include:


  • American Bureau of Shipping (ABS)

  • Bureau Veritas (BV)

  • China Classification Society (CCS)

  • Croatian Register of Shipping (CRS)

  • DNV-GL

  • Indian Register Class (IR Class)

  • Korean Register of Shipping (KR)

  • Lloyd's Register (LR)

  • Nippon Kaiji Kyokai (ClassNKK)

  • Polish Register of Shipping (PRS)

  • RINA

  • Russian Register (RS)


MAJ has delegated statutory authority and flag-state inspection services to the International Yacht Bureau (IYB).


This appointment allows both classed and unclassed yachts to utilize the services of the world's only classification society dedicated to yachts.